Promoting NewBies: Has it helped the BJP or would it suffer Electorally?

BharatiyaJanta Party (BJP) and its leaders boast that their party & its top leadership does not promote Nepotism & pure talent is what matters to grow within the party and this is also reflected in the ticket distribution in states after states where the party acknowledges and honours the hard-work of Karyakartas& Youth Wing Leaders.

Some similar trends were seen in Bihar election where the party gave chance to some of its new & dedicated workers. The ticket from Bikram Assembly Constituency, a Bhumihar dominant Constituency in Patna District, was given to Shri Atul Kumar, a dedicated Youth Wing Leader and the National Vice President of the Bhartiya JantaYuvaMorcha (BJYM) youth with of the BJP. While the BJP promoted a new face the party failed to gained the support of old guard Shri Anil Kumar who had earlier contested from this seat in 2015 and has also been an MLA between 2005 & 2015. The decision taken by the BJP didn’t go well with Anil Ji and he decided to contest as an independent against BJP & INC. Although, Anil Ji lost the election in 2015 but he was politically active in the constituency for the last 5 years and was a known name in the constituency and not having his endorsement for the BJP Candidate who is relatively a new name to the constituency would definitely dent the BJP’s vote share in the upcoming bihar assembly election. In a neck to neck contest having an Independent Candidate like Anil Kumar would definitely impact BJP’s fate in this constituency and it would be interesting to watch if this impact would result in a loss or BJP would be able to save the seat irrespective of the internal conflict.

[Also Read: EtG Opinion Poll in West Bengal Alipurduar Dist]

Second such example comes again from a neighbouring seat or Maner Assembly Constituency in Patna District where BJP opted for Shri Nikhil Anand who is a BJP Spokesperson instead of Old guard Shrikant Nirala JI who has been contesting from this seat since 1990 and has been three time MLA from this seat. A Yadav dominated seat in the Patna District has always seen tough contest between Bhai Virendra & Shri Kant Nirala Ji since last 6 bihar assembly elections held. Entry of a new face Nikhil Anand along with Independent candidature of Shrikant Nirala ji has made the contest triangular on this battleground seat with a slight edge to the RJD’s Bhai Virendra due to internal conflict between the BJP’s Old & New Guard.

[Also Read: EtG Opinion Poll in West Bengal Dakshin Dinajpur Dist]

It would be interesting to see how these two constituencies vote and what would be the fate of these two new entrants from the BJP & how much has this decision benefitted the BJP and all of these can be answered only when the counting begins for the bihar election on the 10Th of November.

[Also Read: EtG Opinion Poll in West Bengal Nadia Dist]