Will BJP be able to end Mamta era in West Bengal

Will BJP be able to end “Mamta era” in West Bengal?

With an eye on the 2021 West Bengal assemble polls next year, the BJP has decided to field its battle-tested central leaders in the state. During a crucial organizational meeting on Tuesday in Kolkata Bhartiya Janata Party has decided that Bengal would be divided into five organizational zones, each looked by a central leader with proven track record of successfully conduction elections in other states.

While the bjp has decided the candidates for the five organizational zones of Kolkata, Sunil Deodhar would look after the Medinipur zone, the Rarh Bongo zone would be looked after by Vinod Sonkar. BJP’s national general secretary Harish Dwivedi would look after the North Bengal zone. The Kolkata Zone would be led by national general secretary Dushyant Kumar Gautam and Vinod Taorey would be incharge of Nabadwip zone.

Deodhar played a major role in ending the Left Front rule Tripura. Gautam has significantly contributed in BJP’s win in Madhya Pradesh. Sonkar successfully manged BJP’s organisation during elections and led them to a beautiful victory in Uttar Pradesh.

The Central leaders in charge of the five organizational zones would hold meetings with the leadership in each district and submit status reports to the master political strategist of BJP Union Home Minister Amit Shah.

Bhartiya Janata Party also wants to ensure its edge on social media over the TMC and sent its national IT Cell in-charge Amit Malviya as a co-observer in Bengal. He would also head the state BJP’s social media cell.

The BJP faces the problem of a lack of a popular CM face and in the last Lok Sabha polls BJP banked on a number of imports from other parties to increase its tally. The names of several celebrities from Cricket to bollywood earlier made rounds as probable CM candidate of BJP. However, the BJP is yet to find an acceptable popular face to match Mamata Banerjee’s persona .

While its vote share in 2019 Lok Sabha polls shot up to nearly 40.23%, almost two and half times more than the 17.02% it had got in 2014 Lok Sabha polls, BJP got just 10.16 per cent votes in 2016 Assembly polls. In the 2011 Assembly elections, it got only 04 % votes. Also, BJP had won only three seats in 2016 assembly polls and the gap between votes garnered by BJP and Trinamool Congress was a huge over 34%.

BJP’s struggle to save the rich glory of Bengal will continue. We stand with the people of Bengal despite the brazen misuse of state power by Mamata didi. I want to clearly tell her again that BJP karyakartas have resolved to fight her corrupt, violent and dictatorial rule democratically to restore Bengal’s lost glory and pride. The people of Bengal and BJP will defeat her regime lock, stock and barrel,” said BJP National Party President JP Nadda.